Carex pellita Willd.
Common Name: SEDGE
Synonym: Carex lanuginosa
Coefficient of Conservatism: 2
Coefficient of Wetness: -5
Wetness Index: OBL
Physiognomy: Nt P-Sedge

C. lanuginosa of Michigan Flora.

Sandy or marly shores (often in shallow water), marshes, meadows, swales, river banks, rarely in drier habitats as on dunes or sandy, savannas (jack pine or oak-aspen); spreading by strong rhizomes.

Long known by the name C. lanuginosa, the type of which, however, is a specimen of C. lasiocarpa. The culms tend to be more sharply 3-angled and rougher in C. pellita than in C. lasiocarpa.

Carex ×subimpressa Clokey, treated as a species in Michigan Flora, is an occasional hybrid of C. pellita and C. hyalinolepis. It is known from Lenawee, Monroe, Wayne, and Washtenaw Cos. Though sterile, it can form large and conspicuous clones in ditches and other moist, open, often disturbed habitats. See Reznicek and Catling (1986) for more information. Carex pellita also rarely hybridizes with C. lacustris (the basis for mapping C. subimpressa in Montcalm Co. in Michigan Flora; also known from Lenawee Co.).


Alcona County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
Cheboygan County
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Eaton County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Mackinac County
Macomb County
Marquette County
Mason County
Menominee County
Midland County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Osceola County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. July 23, 2021.