Solidago altissima L.
Coefficient of Conservatism: 1
Coefficient of Wetness: 3
Wetness Index: FACU
Physiognomy: Nt P-Forb

Fields, prairie remnants, roadsides, fencerows, thickets; meadows, marshy ground, fens, moist shores, moist savannas; borders of rivers, forests, and swamps.

Involucre length has to be measured carefully on mature heads to be sure of the distinction from the small-headed S. canadensis. Measure several involucres to get a majority opinion if necessary; S. gigantea has involucres of similar size (or sometimes a trifle smaller), but the stem is glabrous beneath the inflorescence and the leaves are often glabrous beneath. In S. altissima the stem is pubescent to below the middle, usually to the base, but loss or abrasion of the hairs often makes it difficult to discern pubescence toward the base of the plant. The leaves generally are ± pubescent all across the lower surface, as in S. canadensis var. hargeri, and some of the main leaves are more often entire or nearly so than in the distinctly serrate-toothed S. canadensis.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
    Only on Charity Island
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Cass County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
    Including Drummond Island
Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
Schoolcraft County
Shiawassee County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. November 26, 2022.