Carex bebbii (L. H. Bailey) Fernald
Common Name: SEDGE
Coefficient of Conservatism: 4
Coefficient of Wetness: -5
Wetness Index: OBL
Physiognomy: Nt P-Sedge

Carex bebbii A. A. Reznicek

One of our commonest species. Wet sandy shores, meadows, swales, ditches, stream banks, cedar and tamarack swamps, moist forests, usually in open ground or clearings.

Carex bebbii is usually a a slender, relatively narrow leaved plant, but unusually robust individuals can have leaves up to 5 mm wide on rare occasions. Such robust specimens may seem to resemble C. cristatella, which also can have ± compact inflorescences. However, the sheaths of even robust C. bebbii are at most slightly expanded at the apex, not loose and "baggy" near the apex as in C. cristatella. As well, the lowest perigynia in the spikes of C. bebbii are ± ascending and the spikes are clearly longer than wide, while the spikes of C. cristatella, at maturity, are globular, with the lowest perigynia spreading or even ± reflexed. Superficially, C. bebbii resembles C. crawfordii which, however, has much narrower perigynia. The perigynia usually ripen July–August.


Alcona County
Alger County
Allegan County
Alpena County
Antrim County
Arenac County
Baraga County
Barry County
Bay County
Benzie County
Berrien County
Calhoun County
Charlevoix County
    Including Beaver Island
Cheboygan County
Chippewa County
Clare County
Crawford County
Delta County
Dickinson County
Eaton County
Emmet County
Genesee County
Gladwin County
Gogebic County
Grand Traverse County
Gratiot County
Hillsdale County
Houghton County
Huron County
Ingham County
Ionia County
Iosco County
Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County
Kalkaska County
Kent County
Keweenaw County
    Including Isle Royale
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
    Including Fox Islands
    Including Manitou Islands
Lenawee County
Livingston County
Luce County
Mackinac County
    Including Bois Blanc, Mackinac, Round Islands
Macomb County
Manistee County
Marquette County
Mecosta County
Menominee County
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Newaygo County
Oakland County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Oscoda County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Sanilac County
Schoolcraft County
St. Clair County
St. Joseph County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County


MICHIGAN FLORA ONLINE. A. A. Reznicek, E. G. Voss, & B. S. Walters. February 2011. University of Michigan. Web. July 23, 2021.